Educational Institutions in Malaysia

The Many Educational Institutions In Malaysia

The formation of the Department of Polytechnic Education was a result of a restructuring exercise by the Department of Polytechnic and junior college Education (DPCCE) on 16 September 2009.

It is the Department of Polytechnic Education’s responsibility to develop graduates who are well-educated, experienced, artistic, inventive, open-minded, significant intellectual youths, fully equipped and employment ready.

Apart from public universities, polytechnic education offers an alternate route for varsity leavers with SPM qualifications to further their education at diploma and advanced diploma levels.

There is a recent major transformation in the polytechnic education with the goal of mass-producing professional graduates who passed the criteria of the National teaching Strategic Plan (PSPTN) as well as the National Key Result Areas (NKRA). Polytechnics provide an alternate route that sufficiently produces highly skilled and qualified human capital which can make sure the success of a brand new economy supported innovation and creativity.

The reorganization of the Department of Polytechnic and junior college of the Ministry of upper Education in 2009 has given rise to the birth of the Department of junior college Education (or better referred to as JPKK). Its mission is to extend the socio-economic status of all levels of Malaysians through better access to education. This can be dole out through training programmes and also the use of a life-long learning approach. JPKK is tasked with providing vocational-based training (programmes like Siijil Modular Kebangssan) resulting in a certificate qualification for those that don’t choose the tutorial pathway.

JPKK has taken aggressive measures to extend the co-ed enrolment at TEVT and enhance the general training quality of up-skilling and re-skilling programmes for the workforce involved in vocational fields.

See Also: Tips For Internship Interview

Both public and personal education providers play equally important roles within the provision of upper education. Together, the general public and personal sectors provide abundant study options. HEIs offer programmes resulting in the award of certificates, diplomas similarly as postgraduate qualifications. Higher education providers in Malaysia are grouped into two major categories:

Public higher educational institutions (government-funded)

– Public universities

– Polytechnics

– Community colleges

Private higher educational institutions

Private universities

– Private university-colleges

– Foreign university branch campuses

– Private colleges

The government-funded (public) higher educational institutions under the Ministry of upper Education consist of:

– Public universities which provide bachelor degrees and postgraduate programmes, with some offering programmes at diploma level and university foundation programmes

Polytechnics and community colleges which provide certificate and diploma level programmes

– Public colleges which provide certificate and diploma level programmes.

This video explains the main differences between pubic and private institutions:

The prerequisites to a bachelor’s degree are:

  1. A grade of at least a C (2.00) in General Studies as well as in subjects on the Malaysian Higher School Certificate (STPM)
  2. Bahasa Melayu in the Sijil Pelajaran Malaysia (SPM)as well as a Malaysian University English Exam Band Level 1

The prerequisites to Master’s programmes are:

  1. An Honors Degree accompanied by academic attainment of high level
  2. A Bachelor Degree or equivalent, like for example, a professional requirement that is of a Bachelor Degree level, in private institutions

Jika anda ingin sambung belajar selepas SPM dengan diploma, klik sini untuk matlumat lanjut tentang kolej yang terbaik di Malaysia.